Concept

The PATH OF VISIONARIES - SIGNS FOR EUROPE located at the pedestrian zone of Friedrichstraße in the heart of Berlin. Each Member State is represented with a quote from an outstanding personality on a "Panel of Nations". Together they form a bond of shared values, visions and the diversity of cultures of the European Community.

The panels are arranged according to the order of their membership.

The PATH OF VISIONARIES - a permanent sign for peace and internationality.

UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, shows its attachment to the project with its own contribution to the PATH OF VISIONARIES, in the form of a floor plaque.

“Since wars begin in the minds of men,
it is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed.”

(First sentence from the CONSTITUTION of UNESCO and official quotation contribution of UNESCO to the PATH OF VISIONARIES in Berlin).

Special thanks to:
Ms. Irina Bokowa, Director-General of UNESCO, former patron of the PATH OF THE VISIONARIES OF THE WORLD

Dr. Jean-Claude Juncker, former President of the European Commission, patron of the PATH OF VISIONARIES during his term of office.

Location

The PATH OF VISIONARIES is located at Hallesches Tor, close to Mehringplatz. The Mehringplatz, formerly Belle-Alliance-Platz, constituted together with the Hallesches Tor the southern city gate in the Frederician Berlin.

The Belle-Alliance-Platz got its name after the Wars of Liberation (Napoleonic Wars) which emphasized in a particular way the pursuit of sovereignty by the European nations. Barely higher than 19 meters, the fountain sculpture of an Angel of Peace has towered above the place until now.

The angel as goddess of peace Irene and goddess of victory Viktoria at the same time, stood for an idea of peace of the 19th century, that peace and war would be mutually dependent. The PATH OF VISIONARIES sets a contemporary modern interpretation: peace as acting in dialogue, in recognition and respect for the diversity of cultures. The angel, as a peacemaker, became the symbol for the urban art project.

The PATH OF VISIONARIES invites you to be inspired by the visionary thoughts of prominent Europeans and to experience the diversity of cultures.

CONCEPT and PROJECT MANAGEMENT: Bonger Voges
DESIGN and VISUAL CONCEPT: Daniela Haitzler and Marcel Fleiner
REALIZATION: Rainer Fest
SUPPORTING ASSOCIATION KUNSWELT e.V. BERLIN: Vorstand RA Kristijana Penava

Idee

Der PFAD DER VISIONÄRE – ZEICHEN FÜR EUROPA in der Fußgängerzone der Friedrichstraße im Herzen Berlins. Jedes EU-Mitgliedsland wird mit einem Zitat einer herausragenden Persönlichkeit auf einer „Tafel der Nationen“ repräsentiert. Zusammen bilden sie ein Band der gemeinsamen Werte, Visionen und der Vielfalt der Kulturen der Europäischen Gemeinschaft.

Die Anordnung der Tafeln entspricht der Reihenfolge ihrer Mitgliedschaft.

der PFAD DER VISIONÄRE – ein dauerhaftes Zeichen für Frieden und Internationalität.

Die UNESCO, Organisation der Vereinten Nationen für Erziehung, Wissenschaft und Kultur, zeigt mit einem eigenem Beitrag zum PFAD DER VISIONÄRE, in Form einer Bodentafel, ihre Verbundenheit mit dem Projekt.

„Da Kriege im Geiste der Menschen entstehen,
muss auch der Frieden im Geiste der Menschen verankert werden.“

(Erster Satz aus der Verfassung der UNESCO und offizieller Zitatbeitrag der UNESCO zum PFAD DER VISIONÄRE in Berlin).

Dank an:
Frau Irina Bokowa, Generaldirektorin der UNESCO, ehemalige Schirmherrin des PFAD DER VISIONÄRE DER WELT

Dr. Jean-Claude Juncker, ehemaliger Präsident der Europäischen Kommission, in seiner Amtszeit Schirmherr des PFAD DER VISIONÄRE.

Standort

Der PFAD DER VISIONÄRE befindet sich am Halleschen Tor, nahe dem Mehringplatz. Der Mehringplatz, ehemals Belle-Alliance-Platz, bildete zusammen mit dem Halleschen Tor das südliche Stadttor im friederizianischen Berlin.

Als Belle-Alliance-Platz erhielt seinen Namen in Folge der Freiheitskriege und unterstrich auf besondere Weise das Streben der europäischen Nationen nach Souveränität. Bis heute überragt die 19m hohe Brunnenskulptur eines Friedensengels den Platz.

Der Engel als Friedensgöttin Irene und Siegesgöttin Viktoria zugleich, stand für eine Idee von Frieden des 19 Jahrhunderts, dass Frieden und Krieg sich einander bedingen würden. Der PFAD DER VISIONÄRE setzt eine zeitgemäße moderne Interpretation: Frieden als handeln im Dialog, in Anerkennung und Respekt gegenüber der Vielfältigkeit der Kulturen. Der Engel, als Friedensstifter, wurde das Sinnbild für das Stadtkunstprojekt.

Der PFAD DER VISIONÄRE lädt ein, sich von visionären Gedanken prominenter Europäer und Europäerinnen inspirieren zu lassen und die Vielfältigkeit der Kulturen zu erleben.

IDEE und PROJEKTLEITUNG: Bonger Voges
DESIGN und VISUELLES KONZEPT: Daniela Haitzler und Marcel Fleiner
REALISIERUNG: Rainer Fest
TRÄGER KUNSTWELT e.V. BERLIN: Vorstand RA Kristijana Penava